Endless hours

29/09/2012

Her Daughter’s Anger

My mother sewed

endless hours bent over

her machine.

What she has made, to me, is

sacred.

Strangers wear her clothes

tossing them in piles on

their floors lay all

her years.

cp ©2012

My mother worked in the sewing mills from the time I was five years old until I went to college.  Although there was a strong union, ILGWU (International Ladies Garment Workers Union), it did not keep these women safe from “white lung disease.”  To this day, when I buy a piece of clothing, I offer a silent prayer for the hands who made it.

Share a thought

