at dusk

28/06/2013

B 002At dusk my sisters’

voices carry from the porch,

a sweet summer cadence.

I pause.

June bugs in the twilight

lighting my way.

I breathe

before joining in

their songs.

©Tina Hudak

 

A legacy to their children from my parents is a close relationship with my two sisters.  While we are separated by many years and our personal experiences are so different, our lives are intertwined and continue to be so.  The letter B was sketched by me in Minnesota’s Mayo Clinic in 2000 while visiting my sister in hospital after a very serious surgery.  The artwork alone is a silly, frivolous piece, but to me every touch of the pencil allowed my fear to find a concrete place and let hope remain.

This weekend they are visiting. Joy and gratitude will greet them.

Share a thought

