Spring break, used books & annuals

17/03/2015

This combination will cheer anyone after the very long and dismal winter.  It is 70℉ in Takoma Park today, on this Irish feast day of St. Patrick’s, and even though I am Italian-Slovak American, I will accept this gift. Yet, I digress.

flowers

Our front yard, on this lovely day, is a carpet of croci!

To celebrate, I spent my morning “weeding” my book shelves – home to a hefty collection of children’s books – books that once were integral to teaching, reading aloud, especially to very wee-ones, and for the enjoyment of the illustrations.  As every gardener knows, it is as important to weed, as it is to plant!

Of course, the afternoon was spent at a favorite used book store – trading one box of books for another. But, this stack was for me! I always feel like the proverbial “kid in a candy shop.”  My eyes grow large and my palms sweat with expectation of grabbing the delicious volumes off the shelves as I move imperceptible from row to row of these affordable goodies. Throughout my years of second-hand shopping, I have come to appreciate that the best approach is entering the experience with an open mind – expect nothing, and everything is wonderful.

Cradled in my arms was a small & exciting grab bag of treats.I departed with a youthful delight because I am so looking forward to reading these titles for myself – my spring vacation with paper and ink.

A Duty To the Dead: A Bess Crawford Mystery by Charles Todd

The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent: A Maggie Hope Mystery by Susan Elia MacNeal

Silent in the Sanctuary: A Lady Julia Grey Mystery by Deanna Raybourn

Rosewater and Soda Bread by Marsha Mehran

Espresso Tales: The New 44 Scotland Street Novel by Alexander McCall Smith

With the last two titles on the top of my pile, and being easily influenced, I stopped by the local Starbucks for a short latte and treat, compliments of my dear students (from whom I have a two-week break, thus I am able to visit the bookstore and coffee shop)!

Just like my small but stunning croci, this time of year is one I look forward to annually.  I feel young again, renewed, and happy.  I am home. I have time for my husband, family, cats & friends. I have time for music. I have time to read for pleasure. It is a season to bloom and I am grateful to have this season and this year once more, dear readers.

One Response to “Spring break, used books & annuals”

  1. cp Says:

    Thanks to kelzbelzphotography, inspiredbyabook & siuquxebooks. for the Follows!

    Like


Share a thought

