Subtle message

04/02/2016

Chrisgiftstmas. My son gives me new color pencils, ink and pens, paper of all sorts. Bright reds, blues. Shades of hopeful greens.

Upstairs, I rearranged my studio, yet again, trying to become inspired. I begin with the pencil. All browns, blacks, grays, yellows on antiseptic white paper. Hard angles. Sparse landscape. Graphite scrapes against the grain.

The school year. Entrenched. A library fills with books and laptops. Worksheets and critical thinking. All is drawn clinically. Shelves ordered and neat. Lines between the personal and professional.

Approached. Asked. Asked to teach one art class.

Tonight is for the green pencil.

The universe speaks to me where it can find me.  My son. Its voice.

Share a thought

