July 4ART

03/07/2016

Working artist. These words hold an enormous meaning for me. Since 1996 I have not been a working artist, but a dabbler in the arts. Artists work every. Every day they log many hours thinking, creating, destroying, remaking, and revisiting their work.

As a working librarian, formerly a working artist, I have limited time to all but tap the creative side that lays dormant. Last year I cleared away a massive amount of art supplies and papermaking equipment in order to come to terms with personal changes as an artist – my capabilities and limitations. Now, my supplies are limited; I find this exciting. What can I express with what I have at hand? July is my month for art. A summer adventure in concrete limitations, but not those of the imagination.

CAM00962

My desire, dear reader, is for you to embark with me on this adventure. What do you have, right now, this very moment, in your drawers? Chalk, color pencils, your child’s Crayola watercolors?  I share my beginnings here and now to give you the gentle nudge in my direction –  a friendly push to take pencil and paper in hand. Use nature to inspire you. Play.

Supplies

  • Faber Castell color pencils
  • Strathmore drawing paper, medium weight
  • General’s extra black layout pencil No. 555
  • Found scrap of wallpaper from our farmhouse wall
  • Printer & color copier
  • Seashell
  • Krylon workable fixative (spray outdoors for ventilation)

What you see here

Size the drawing paper to fit through the printer (8.5 x11). Color copy the scrap of 1901 wallpaper onto this paper.  Using my layout pencil to draw calligraphic strokes, and proceeding to color these according to the tones and hues of a seashell. Spraying fixative intermittently as I do not want lines or color pencil to smear, unless I CHOOSE to do this.

Check-in with me mid-July and share your process; share your art. I look forward to seeing your work in progress, as you see mine.

Share a thought

